Chinese Fried “Rice”

IMG_1090

I’m a sucker for good Chinese food.  I love it all – egg rolls, soups, fried, steamed.  You name it, I’ll eat it.  Since starting to eat primal/low carb, I’ve not been able to get take out from my favorite Chinese hole-in-the-wall, which is a bummer.  But, again, cauliflower rice has come to my rescue!  This is a yummy low-carb version of Chinese fried rice AND you will be eating your veggies!

Chinese Fried Rice

1/2 head of cauliflower, riced

1/2 bag of frozen peas & carrots, thawed & rinsed

1/2 medium yellow onion, diced

2 eggs, whisked

soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, sriracha sauce

Olive oil

In a strainer, rinse and thaw out the peas and carrots.  Rice the cauliflower in a food processor. Finely chop the onion and put the onion in a skillet over medium/high heat with the olive oil – saute until the translucent (about 5 minutes).

Add peas and carrots and cook until water evaporates, about 5 minutes (sometimes I drain off the water in the middle of the cooking time to help things along).

Add 2 scrambled eggs and stir while the eggs cook fully.  Add the cauliflower rice and several good dashes of soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, & sriracha sauce.  Taste and adjust accordingly.  I usually use more soy sauce than anything and go light on the sriracha sauce.

Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 10-15 minutes.

Serve with your favorite Chinese meat (pictured is my Orange Chicken, which I’ll post the recipe for that later) and enjoy!

IMG_1091

4 thoughts on “Chinese Fried “Rice”

  1. Thanks for the recipe! My kids really wanted orange chicken this week and I didn’t want to have to make rice. We all love cauliflower and I am looking forward to trying this!

Leave a comment