Super close to Panera Bread Broccoli Cheese Soup

IMG_5268

I’ve been trying recipes that claim to be “copycat Panera Bread” Broccoli Cheddar soups for a couple years now and haven’t found any to my liking – until tonight.  I almost never post a recipe same day, but this soup was SO close to Panera’s Broccoli Cheddar soup that I couldn’t wait to share.

For all the primal peeps out there – substitute arrowroot powder or tapioca starch.  I used flour because I didn’t have arrowroot on hand this time around.

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • ½ medium chopped onion
  • ¼ cup melted butter
  • ¼ cup flour (or arrowroot powder)
  • 2 cups half-and-half cream
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • lots of fresh broccoli (I used about 4 cups)
  • 1 cup carrot, julienned
  • 8-16 ounces grated sharp cheddar cheese (depending on how much cheese you like)
  • salt and pepper to taste
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Saute the onion in 1 tablespoon melted butter and set aside. In a large pot whisk together the melted butter and flour over medium heat for about 3-4 minutes.
  2. Slowly whisk in the half and half and chicken stock. Let it simmer for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the broccoli, carrots, and onions. Let them simmer on medium low for about 25 minutes until the broccoli and carrots are tender.
  4. Add salt and pepper and sharp cheddar cheese. Let the cheese melt and then serve. For a smoother soup puree it with a handheld blender, but I kept it chunky.  SO yummy!
  5. Enjoy!

IMG_5264

IMG_5269

2 thoughts on “Super close to Panera Bread Broccoli Cheese Soup

  1. I made this last night for myself while my husband was working and saved some of course for him for lunch today. I did use arrowroot instead of flour and since I didn’t have an half & half I used about a cup of heavy whipping cream and extra chicken broth. I used a ton of cheese and actually did a mixture of multiple kinds. My husband tried it today and he said it was even better than Panera’s! 🙂

Leave a Reply

