Primal Biscuit Recipe, take 2

photo-5

 

I don’t usually post a recipe the same day I try it, but in this case, I’ve made an exception.  I have used a different biscuit recipe for my biscuits & gravy recipe for over a year now (here) but for kicks and giggles, I tried a new recipe I found over at the Health Starts in the Kitchen blog, which I adapted slightly.

These biscuits are really great – very dense, slightly sweet, and completely filling.  My husband called these biscuits a “grand slam” which is saying something, since most new recipes are “singles or doubles”.

These are great with jam or honey, too.  🙂

Anyway, this will be our new go-to biscuit recipe I think.

Here’s the details:

photo-6

 

Grain Free Buttermilk Biscuits

2 1/2 cups of almond flour

1/4 cup of arrowroot powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

3 T of butter

2 T of coconut sugar

1/4 cup of sour cream

2 large eggs

2 (more) T of butter

photo-4

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Line your cookie sheet with wax paper & grease.

In a medium bowl, combine almond flour, baking powder/soda, and sea salt.  Set aside.  Now, in a small pan, over low heat, melt 3T of butter and the add the sour cream and whisk until combined.  Take off heat and whisk in the 2 eggs.

Pour whisked liquid mixture into the dry ingredients and stir well.  Fold in the 1/4 cup of arrowroot powder.

Divide dough in 8 equal portions, dust your hands with arrowroot powder, and form each portion into a biscuit shape.  Place on cookie sheet.

Bake the biscuits at 350 for 20 minutes.  Halfway through, melt the 2T of butter and brush on top of the biscuits.

Cool biscuits for about 15 minutes before eating.

Enjoy!!

photo-7

9 thoughts on “Primal Biscuit Recipe, take 2

  1. Just a heads up that you didn’t include the coconut sugar in the actual recipe, only in the ingredient list. When I made the biscuits and gravy, I didn’t notice it wasn’t included and when I made them as biscuits to be eaten alone, I added the coconut sugar to the dry ingredients and hoped it was the right place. It seemed to be! 🙂

Leave a Reply

