Sloppy Joes

IMG_1148

 

I haven’t had Sloppy Joes since I was a kid that I can remember – Mom used to make Sloppy Joes with Manwich, which obviously wouldn’t work for a primal lifestyle.  I wanted to make a primal version of Sloppy Joes, though, because my soon-to-be two year old is a little picky and I am trying to find kid friendly dinners for her.

IMG_1149

This recipe turned out GREAT!  I love it.  I add some mustard & dill pickles on top of my Sloppy Joe meat (yum!).  For sides I made coleslaw and Cheddar Cauliflower muffins.

Sloppy Joes

2lbs of ground beef

1 tsp of butter (or coconut oil if Paleo)

1 green pepper, chopped

1 yellow onion, chopped

2 T apple cider vinegar

2 T yellow mustard

1 can of tomato sauce

1 can of tomato paste

1/4 cup water

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp sea salt

pepper to taste

Put the butter in a large pan, turn on medium heat and add chopped onion & chopped green pepper.  Let cook until the veggies start to get soft (about 8-10 minutes).  Then add meat and cook until brown.  Drain off the excess fat.  Add in the rest of the ingredients, stir well, and let cook on low for about an hour.

Enjoy!

IMG_1147

 

IMG_1146

2 thoughts on “Sloppy Joes

Leave a Reply

