Primal Biscuits & Sausage Gravy

photo-3

**Update:  I tried a new biscuit recipe tonight that I like better than the biscuit recipe below, although both are good.  If you’d like to use the new biscuit recipe, click here.**

Growing up, I loved my Mom-mom’s fried chicken with biscuits and milk gravy.  I decided that I needed to make sausage milk gravy with some primal biscuits the other day – it was a huge hit!  My husband raved and said he liked the biscuits & gravy even better the next day as the flavors settled.  So yay! 🙂

Biscuits

6 egg whites

3/4 cup of almond flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup milk (use coconut milk to make paleo)

2 T butter, cut up

Heat oven to 400 degrees.  I lined a baking sheet with foil and greased the foil.

Mix together almond flour, coconut flour, baking powder, and salt together in a mixing bowl.  Cut in butter.  Stir in milk.  Set aside.

In another bowl, beat the 6 egg whites until very white and foamy.  Fold in egg whites into flour mixture until well combined.  Drop batter by spoonfuls onto baking sheet.  Bake biscuits 15-18 minutes or until tops start to brown.

photo

photo-1

Sausage Milk Gravy

1 lb ground sausage

1 T almond flour

3 T arrowroot powder

2-3 cups of milk (I used about 2 1/2 cups)

Salt and pepper to taste (don’t be shy on the pepper!)

Brown sausage until cooke throughly.  Remove from pan, but leave the grease in the pan.  Add a little extra grease of your choice if you need it (there needs to be about 1/4 cup of grease in the pan).

To your grease, add your almond flour & arrowroot powder, whisking over medium heat until your get a good paste.

Add milk and bring to a slow boil, whisking constantly.  Add sausage back into the mixture and continue stirring until it is the desired thickness.    Serve the gravy over the biscuits.

Enjoy!

photo-2

33 thoughts on “Primal Biscuits & Sausage Gravy

  1. Can you use almond milk for the biscuits and for the gravy?
    I noticed you put coconut milk as a substitute for the biscuit portion, but wasn’t sure if you can sub that in for the gravy too? or could use almond milk?

  2. I made this with coconut milk…..it was a huge huge disappointment. The gravy had a terrible flavor and texture. The biscuits look good though

    • Oh bummer Becca. I’m sorry to hear it didn’t turn out.

      I have always used whole milk – if you’re ok with dairy, I would recommend it. If not, maybe try almond milk next?

      The original recipe called for coconut milk in this recipe, but it was the full fat, canned stuff.

      I’m glad the biscuits turned out ok at least 🙂

  3. Made these for breakfast. New to paleo and fun to try recipes. They turned out pretty good. Of course they are not exactly the same but still hit the spot. My hubby and I enjoyed them. Thanks!

  4. I made both recipes with plain almond milk and it turned out great! I think the key to the gravy is letting cook a while and the arrowroot powder … but almond milk works. “)

  5. My husband has Celiac disease, and it intolerant to most everything. We tried making these yesterday with tapioca flour since he can’t have coconut, and almond milk in place of whole. They turned out more like flat, thin ciabatta bread that didn’t have much flavor :/ trying them again today with potato flour instead of tapioca, and 2 tsp of sugar to give it a bit of something. Hoping they are tasty! I wonder how yours were fluffy and more “cookie dough-like”….mine are more like pancake batter that I have to pour onto the cookie sheet and cut up when it’s cooked….

  6. Tried this recipe for the first tim this morning and. The gravy was good but the biscuits were flat like cookies 😦 any ideas what could have gone wrong?

  7. Pingback: Primal Biscuits & Sausage Gravy - Seven Foods Of Heaven

  8. I have the “biscuits” in the oven right now and I’m 99% sure they won’t turn out. I thought the egg whites were frothy enough, but the flour/milk mixture didn’t seem like enough to absorb all of the egg white. The dough was very runny. I’m definitely going to try the Buttermilk ones next time around.

  9. I tried these this morning and although they were a little flat they were very tasty, did have a bit of coconut flavor but were good. I didn’t have arrowroot so the gravy was not paleo but it was still good. I wonder if you could put them into muffin pan so you could make them thicker?

  10. Being Celiac all my life I’ve never gotten to enjoy biscuits and gravy. Today at brunch I was listening to everyone else rave about their biscuits and gravy so I decided to try and find a gluten free recipe – and here I am!

    As others have noted, the biscuit dough has too much liquid – but adding more almond and coconut flour until the consistency was correct settled that issue nicely. I don’t use arrowroot, so subbed potato starch in the gravy, which made it almost disturbingly glue-y in texture, but a good flavor. Next time I will do corn starch – I realize both of my subs make it non-Paleo but for your only-gluten-free readers corn starch would probably be great for the gravy.

    I love the biscuit recipe (with the additional dry ingredients) – I added garlic powder and the flavor is really great. With the addition of cheese and maybe some green onion, they would resemble those biscuits from Red Lobster everyone loves.

  11. Pingback: 10 Beautiful Paleo Recipes | Funny Image

  12. Pingback: Vacation is the devil

  13. I made this gravy today (with a can of coconut milk) and absolutely loved it! I had already made different biscuits but will definitely try this recipe next time. Thanks so much!

  14. Pingback: Sugar Detox- Days 18-21 - Small Paychecks, Big Memories

  15. Pingback: Paleo Meal Plan Monday - Week of May 11th

  16. Pingback: 94 Healthy & Delicious Weight Loss Paleo Breakfast Recipes!

  17. Pingback: 20 of the Best Fluffy, Flakey, Buttery Paleo Biscuit Recipes Ever |Paleo Forever

  18. Pingback: DTA Keto Food Library | Diabetic Treatment Alternatives

  19. Pingback: 110+ Ketogenic Breakfast Recipes

  20. Pingback: Brunette’s Top Five Budget Paleo Breakfast – BrunetteBudgets

Leave a Reply

