Primal Beef Enchiladas (a.k.a. sweet nectar of life)

photo-3

 

Ok, so I have this obsession with Mexican foods.  O.M.G.  I love it all – burritos, enchiladas, tacos, taco salad, guacamole, salsa, queso, etc…  Bring it on!  But since going low carb, it’s been a sad day for my Meixcan food fix.  Sure, I still get taco salad, but it’s not the same.

Then I ran across an enchilada recipe, tried it, and died and went to heaven.  My husband doesn’t like enchiladas (I know, right?) so I have been eating these for dinner 3 days straight.  They just get better and better.  *sigh*

A disclaimer:

I tend towards easy recipes.  I don’t like lots of steps, so I didn’t make my own primal tortillas and I didn’t make my own enchilada sauce.  I did buy enchilada sauce with no sugar added and I did buy low carb tortillas. If you want to make your own tortillas, Google “Primal Tortillas” and you’ll find plenty to choose from.

photo

 

Beef Enchiladas

1 can (28oz) of Red Enchilada Sauce (sugar free)

7 – 10 tortillas (depending on how big you stuff them)

1 lb of ground beef

1 med yellow onion, finely diced

1 can diced green chiles

1/2 tsp salt

2 – 3 cups of cheddar cheese (I used 1 1/2 bags)

1 large can of black lives (chop them if they aren’t)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 inch pan.

Pour the red enchilada sauce into a sauce pan, bring it to a boil, reduce heat and summer for 30 minutes.  I found the enchilada sauce to be very runny, so simmering for 30 minutes thickens it up.

While the sauce is simmering, brown the ground beef, drain off the fat, and add onions.  Cook the onions with the beef until onions are translucent.  Add chiles and salt, cook for another 5 minutes or so.

Ladle some enchilada sauce onto the bottom of the pan, spreading out evenly.

To assemble enchiladas, spoon meat, cheese, & olives into a tortilla.  Roll tortilla up and place seam down in your pan.  Repeat until the pan is full & you’ve run out of filling.  Pour the remaining sauce on top of the tortillas and top with lots of cheese.  Bake for about 30 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Serve with whatever toppings you like:  sour cream, avocado, lettuce, tomato, more black olives, etc…

Enjoy!

photo-4

 

photo-2

Leave a Reply

