Kid-Friendly corn dog mini muffins

IMG_0389

These mini corn dog muffins are really very tasty.  We used nitrate-free, kosher hot dogs.  You can one-up it and use organic hot dogs.  Our town doesn’t sell organic anything, so nitrate-free was the best I could do 🙂

Grain free Corn Dog Mini Muffins

5 hot dogs, each cut into 5 pieces

2/3 cups of coconut flour

1/2 cup of butter, melted

8 eggs, beaten

1/4 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp of baking powder

Optional:  Honey (I like my cornbread sweet and used 2-3 tablespoons)

Preheat the oven to 400F.  Whisk the coconut flour, salt, and baking powder together.  In a separate bowl, combine melted butter and eggs.  Add wet to dry ingredients and mix well.  Then add honey, if you are using it.

Grease a mini-muffin pan and fill each muffin cup almost full with batter.  Stick a piece of hot dog vertically into the center of each one.  Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown.

IMG_0388

7 thoughts on “Kid-Friendly corn dog mini muffins

  1. Pingback: Weigh-in, Gluten-Free Corn Dogs, Ice Cream, and Larabars | Honest Food with Amy

  2. The first time I tried this recipe it was good but not great. But then I didn’t have coconut flour and used AP GF flour instead.

    The second time I made this I opted to use a regular muffin tin and paper liners so I could leave out the ‘grease’. I used coconut flour this time and the dough came out more fluffy than soupy like the first batch. They also tasted better too.

  3. I have two VERY picky toddlers and I am about to give this recipe a shot. I will return with the judgement!

  4. The verdict:

    It was not a win for my boys, but that’s no fault of yours. They are just so picky.

    The corn dogs puffed up nicely and had a beautiful golden brown finish. The coconut is very bold in flavor as opposed to the egg, so I found that enjoyable, but these seemed dry in comparison to almond flour corn dogs.

    Oh, and for a sweeter, sugarless option, adding erythritol to the recipe is great. It gave it that sweeter cornbread taste without the carbs!

    I give them a 7/10 and that I would recommend them to anyone who prefers coconut. 🙂 Thank you!

  5. Can I use gluten free corn bread mix? or possibly gluten free corn meal instead? I am just not a big fan of coconut flour and think that the wouldn’t taste like corn dogs without any corn in them lol… Just my opinion but they still sound yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

